When the British Isles became Great Britain

The name Great Britain refers to the union of what were  four separate countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.  When did it happen?  On March 24th 1603 King James became King of England, but he was already a king - King James VI of Scotland.  He was the first Stuart monarch to rule both countries creating the kingdom of Great Britain.  In 1707 an act of Parliament formally brought the two countries together.

No comments: